When are you an adult?

The thing is, I can’t tell. Are you an adult when you hit puberty? When you get your period? What about when you have your first breakup? Sex? How about when you turn eighteen?

What about when you do your own laundry? Yeah, I know, a lot of us fold our own laundry, or put it away, or something. But a lot of us rely on our parents to help us out. And why not? We grow up with people, and those people also do laundry. And since they’re older, they teach us how to do it, or do it for us. But some of us grow up early, by necessity or just because, and are responsible for our own laundry. It seems to mean something, doesn’t it? To be responsible for the neverending chore that is clean clothes?

What I’m trying to say is, I’m in a laundry room right now. I’m paying by the load, and I’m responsible for buying detergent, folding, everything. And I’m doing okay. I feel like an adult every time I come down here, and sit in the rumble of the machines and think. I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it. 

Does that make me an adult? Or am I still a child? When do I know? Does adulthood come with a bang, or with a whimper?

Tell me about your own thoughts on laundry, rites of passage, and adulthood in the comments. And until next time, I remain, forever yours, 

Terrance

3 thoughts on “When are you an adult?

  1. My husband (29) and I (28) constantly wonder this ourselves. We have 5 kids and a house we’re renting, but… I still don’t feel like an adult, I don’t feel like… any particular stage in age. I don’t feel like a teen, or a kid, or an adult, it just is. I tried to make the transition to an adult more obvious for myself, but rites of passage didn’t help that any. I got a tattoo at 18, I lived on my own, I had kids, I take them to school, I play video games less (unfortunately), so many different things that are “adult” things, and none of it’s changed. I’ve come to the current conclusion that I’ll never feel like an adult, but that’s cool, cause in the mind of a kid, adults are those really boring people that do really boring things, and I’m anything but boring! lol

    • I’m only nineteen, and I’m scared to have adult responsibilities, to need to be an adult- and to fail at that. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to stop doubting that I’ll ever get there. Although I agree, the adults are the ones who seem the most boring to kids- may I never get to that point.

      • Adult responsibilities suck. Sorry. I’m sure you got it though. It’s not as mystical as it seems, and it’s even more boring than you expect. If you can do the things you need to do, then, that sounds pretty successful, whether you “feel” like an adult or not ^.^

Leave a Reply

